I like words, and organising things, and photographing other things, and being silly and laughing heaps, and you know... stuff
6578 stories
·
12 followers

superheroesincolor: A Thousand Beginnings and Endings ...

1 Share




superheroesincolor:

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings (2018)

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate…

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling 

by Renée Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong

You can get it here 


Fifteen well-known young adult authors retell myths and legends from a variety of Asian countries and regions. Ghosts, androids, demons, and avatars make an appearance in this anthology. Each story is followed by a short essay in which the authors discuss the origins of their retold myths. This collection fills a gap in modern retellings of fairy tales and myths by presenting non-European myths. With stories that cover the science fiction, fantasy, contemporary, and paranormal genres, there is something for everyone. Alyssa Wong takes the Chinese hungry ghost festival and places it in the American Southwest. Lori M. Lee’s retelling of the Hmong folktale “The Woman and the Tiger” involves an android who experiences emotions. Preeti Chhibber’s tale of the Hindu festival Navrati takes place in a gym in New Jersey and demonstrates how revenge can be bittersweet. In “Code of Honor,” a Filipino aswang—similar to a vampire—attends high school. Give to fans of Marissa Meyer’s “Lunar Chronicles” or Rick Riordan’s Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard.


[ Follow SuperheroesInColor on facebook / instagram / twitter / tumblr ]

Read the whole story
bluebec
11 hours ago
reply
Melbourne
Share this story
Delete

superheroesincolor: A Taste of Honey (2016) “Long after the...

1 Share


superheroesincolor:

A Taste of Honey (2016)

“Long after the Towers left the world but before the dragons came to Daluça, the emperor brought his delegation of gods and diplomats to Olorum. As the royalty negotiates over trade routes and public services, the divinity seeks arcane assistance among the local gods.

Aqib bgm Sadiqi, fourth-cousin to the royal family and son of the Master of Beasts, has more mortal and pressing concerns. His heart has been captured for the first time by a handsome Daluçan soldier named Lucrio. in defiance of Saintly Canon, gossiping servants, and the furious disapproval of his father and brother, Aqib finds himself swept up in a whirlwind romance. But neither Aqib nor Lucrio know whether their love can survive all the hardships the world has to throw at them.”

by Kai Ashante Wilson

Order now here

Kai Ashante Wilson ’s debut novel The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps won the 2016 Crawford Award . His stories “Super Bass” and the Nebula-nominated “The Devil in America” can be read online gratis at Tor.com. His story «Légendaire.» can be read in the anthology Stories for Chip, which celebrates the legacy of science fiction grandmaster Samuel Delany. Kai Ashante Wilson lives in New York City.

[ Follow SuperheroesInColor on facebook / instagram / twitter / tumblr ]

Read the whole story
bluebec
11 hours ago
reply
Melbourne
Share this story
Delete

jellyfishjulie: mamia-mantra: jellyfishjulie: ladies invented...

2 Shares








jellyfishjulie:

mamia-mantra:

jellyfishjulie:

ladies invented your favorite science fiction subgenres

Margaret Cavendish - Mary Shelley -  Emma Orczy - Catherine Lucille Moore

need more WOC on this board

You’re right!

Pauline Hopkins - Begum Rokeya - Octavia E. Butler

Read the whole story
Nadezh
6 hours ago
reply
Melbourne, Australia
bluebec
11 hours ago
reply
Melbourne
Share this story
Delete

superheroesincolor: Storm of Locusts (The Sixth World)  (2019)...

1 Share




superheroesincolor:

Storm of Locusts (The Sixth World)  (2019)  

It’s been four weeks since the bloody showdown at Black Mesa, and Maggie Hoskie, Diné monster hunter, is trying to make the best of things. Only her latest bounty hunt has gone sideways, she’s lost her only friend, Kai Arviso, and she’s somehow found herself responsible for a girl with a strange clan power.

Then the Goodacre twins show up at Maggie’s door with the news that Kai and the youngest Goodacre, Caleb, have fallen in with a mysterious cult, led by a figure out of Navajo legend called the White Locust. The Goodacres are convinced that Kai’s a true believer, but Maggie suspects there’s more to Kai’s new faith than meets the eye. She vows to track down the White Locust, then rescue Kai and make things right between them.

Her search leads her beyond the Walls of Dinétah and straight into the horrors of the Big Water world outside. With the aid of a motley collection of allies, Maggie must battle body harvesters, newborn casino gods and, ultimately, the White Locust himself. But the cult leader is nothing like she suspected, and Kai might not need rescuing after all. When the full scope of the White Locust’s plans are revealed, Maggie’s burgeoning trust in her friends, and herself, will be pushed to the breaking point, and not everyone will survive. 

by Rebecca Roanhorse

Order  it here

Rebecca Roanhorse is speculative fiction writer and Nebula, Hugo, and Sturgeon Award Finalist. She is also a 2017 Campbell Award Finalist for Best New Science Fiction and Fantasy writer. Her novel Trail of Lightning is the first book in the Sixth World series, followed by Storm of Locusts in 2019. 

She lives in northern New Mexico with her husband, daughter, and pug. Find more at RebeccaRoanhorse.com and follow her on Twitter at @RoanhorseBex.


[Follow SuperheroesInColor faceb / instag / twitter / tumblr / pinterest]

Read the whole story
bluebec
11 hours ago
reply
Melbourne
Share this story
Delete

Star Fear Halloween Summer

1 Share

Back from London, where the weather was really disturbingly good.  Like, 25 Celsius in the middle of October good.  Very worrying. The rain came back the day after, but it was still 15, 16 degrees.  We’ve been feeling climate change for the last ten years, but Saturday should have scared the shit out of everybody.  More than when it hit 35 over the summer.

It didn’t, of course, and London was as littered with half-dressed Saturday night drunks as you’d expect.  Some places still had radiators and heat lamps on, “because it’s October,” despite the fact that we’ve had summers in previous years that were not as warm as last Saturday.  One year a frost in June killed all the seedlings the kid and I had planted and raised.

One of these days I’m going to buy a farm, convert a chunk of the land for solar and let the local permaculture people experiment with the rest.  I don’t want to go all Dark Mountain here, but if you haven’t noticed by now that we’re all in trouble, then I’m not waiting for you any more.

 

Recently read and loved: DRIVE YOUR PLOW OVER THE BONES OF THE DEAD, Olga Tokarczuk (UK) (US)

 

Read the whole story
bluebec
11 hours ago
reply
Melbourne
Share this story
Delete

Gotta Get That Treat!

1 Share
Cheezburger Image 9226691072

Submitted by: (via 4gIFS)

Read the whole story
bluebec
11 hours ago
reply
Melbourne
Share this story
Delete
Next Page of Stories